DO NOT PAY your Webb County, Texas CDL speeding or traffic ticket until after you have contacted the law firm of Owsley & Associates at 713.275.6900 for a free consultation regarding your options.
We know you want RESULTS that will:
1. Keep the alleged violation off of your driving record
2. Preserve your job
3. Keep your career as a commercial driver unencumbered
4. Save you valuable time by not having to appear in court
5. Save money
The most important consideration is to reduce your risk of losing your commercial driving job or professional driving status. You know better than anyone that your job depends on keeping your driving record as clean as possible. Owsley & Associates understands this and is qualified and experienced to defend your legal rights and financial interests.
We represent clients effectively by utilizing the knowledge and experience obtained practicing law since 1985 in virtually all Texas traffic courts. Our goal is to avoid a traffic ticket costing you your living, and your family’s financial security.
Owsley & Associates knows the local courts and their rules and has appeared before hundreds of courts for many other clients for over 20 years. This allows us to represent you in the most effective manner, and for the most advantageous results possible. Our traffic ticket defense experience will benefit you for years to come.
If you have a CDL and a ticket in Webb County, Texas I encourage you to call 713.275.6900 for a free initial consultation to discuss your traffic ticket OR please follow this FREE Case Review link to get started.
Texas Commercial Driver Traffic Ticket Information
Commercial drivers face many additional pitfalls when dealing with traffic tickets. In addition to any consequences that a commercial driver may face due to the policies of his employer, the State of Texas has different rules for commercial drivers that are much more strict than for non-commercial drivers. In many ways, a commercial driver’s driving record acts as his job resumé. Insurance is also a major concern—liability premiums for a commercial driver can be very costly.
Serious traffic violations for commercial (CDL) driver’s in Webb County, Texas
• Speeding 15 or more over the limit
• Reckless Driving
• Improper or erratic lane change (except failure to signal)
• Following too closely
• Any traffic violation in connection with a fatal accident
• Operating a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) without obtaining a CDL
• Operating a CMV without a license in the possession of the driver
• Operating a CMV without a CDL of the proper class and/or endorsements for the specific vehicle being operated or for the passengers or type of cargo transported
• Railroad grade crossing violations
Any driver convicted of two of these types of offenses within a 10-year period will be disqualified from driving a CMV for 60 days. In the event of a 3rd conviction, the disqualification will be for 120 days.
Major traffic offenses for commercial (CDL) driver’s in Webb County, Texas
Major traffic offenses committed in a CMV or a non-CMV are defined as follows:
• Operating a CMV or non-CMV while under the influence of alcohol
• Operating a CMV with a blood-alcohol concentration of .04 or greater
• Refusal to submit to a chemical test
• Driving a CMV or non-CMV while under the influence of a controlled substance
• Leaving the scene of an accident (CMV or non-CMV)
• Felony involving the use of a motor vehicle (CMV or non-CMV)
• Causing a fatality through the negligent operation of a CMV
• Operating a CMV when the driver’s CDL is suspended
• Use of a CMV or non-CMV in the commission of a felony involving the manufacturing, distributing, or dispensing of a controlled substance
• Racing on the streets and highways
• Using a motor vehicle in attempting to flee or elude an officer
• Operating a motor vehicle with a revoked, cancelled, or suspended registration in violation of O.C.G.A. §40-6-15
• Theft of a commercial motor vehicle or cargo contained therein
• Administrative Per Se (Driving with an alcohol concentration of .08 or more pursuant to Texas Implied Consent).
Any of these violations will result in a disqualification. If the violation involves the commission of a felony involving the manufacturing, distributing, or dispensing of a controlled substance, the disqualification is for LIFE. Otherwise, the disqualification is for 3 years when it occurs while the CMV is transporting hazardous materials that require a placard. All other suspensions are for 1 year for the first violation, and lifetime for the 2nd violation.
As you can see, there are many complications involving citations issued to commercial drivers. The attorneys at The Law Offices of Owsley & Associates help hundreds of CDL drivers each year, and we understand the serious implications because driving is how you make your living. It is always advisable to contact an attorney to assist with these violations.
* Please call our office to determine if a court appearance will be needed in your Webb County ticket case.